AATM Conferences

2019 Math in the Mountains Conference

Saturday, May 4th in Flagstaff, AZ

(Click on link above for more information)

2019 Annual  AATM Conference

Saturday, September 28th in Tempe, AZ

(Click on link above for more information)



It is almost that time of year again…Spring Break, Spring Training and updates to AzMERIT. If you utilize Desmos calculators outside of the AzMERIT testing environment as a tool and to assist students in knowing how to use a critical tool on the AzMERIT assessment. Desmos has a great site that shows both the scientific and graphing calculator and what features of each calculator that will be available within the AzMERIT assessment.  The Desmos link also has access to the scientific and graphing calculator that will be utilized on the AzMERIT assessment.  Interested in how Desmos provides calculators for vision-impaired and blind students? Check out the Desmos website on why accessibility is important, and the features supported on their calculator.

Calculator guidance from AzMERIT is available on the AzMERIT website.  This is a great document to share with middle school and high school teachers. Guidance also contains a list of acceptable hand-held scientific calculators (TI-30X IIS or similar) and acceptable hand-held graphing calculators (TI-84, Casio FX-0750GII or similar). If the recommended calculator is not available, students may use a calculator with less functionality as well.

Connect with AATM

In the Spotlight

Meet our 2019 AATM Annual Conference Keynote Speaker: James Tanton

James Tanton (PhD. Mathematics, Princeton University, 1994) is a research mathematician deeply interested in bridging the gap between the mathematics experienced by school students and the creative mathematics practiced and explored by mathematicians. He worked as a college professor for a decade, as a high-school teacher for a decade, and is now the Mathematician in View Full Post



AATM Membership is available to all persons and institutions interested in mathematics.  Register here. 

Membership Form

Membership dues are as follow:

  • 1 year $25
  • 2 years $40
  • 3 years $60

If you have questions about your membership please contact the Membership Chair,  Lori Everson.